Journal Banner


Hay for My Ox and Other Stories: A First Reading Book for Waldorf Schools

Title:      Hay for My Ox and Other Stories: A First Reading Book for Waldorf Schools
Categories:      Elementary School, Fifth, Fourth, Third, Reading, Verses, Stories/Pedagogical Stories, English, General Waldorf Curriculum
BookID:      609
ISBN-10(13):      9780863159138
Publisher:      Floris Books
Publication date:      1-1-2012
Edition:      2nd Revised edition
Number of pages:      103
Language:      English
Rating:      0 
Picture:      cover
A First Reading Book for Waldorf Schools

This classic early reading book for Waldorf schools is now available again in a newly edited edition. The stories and poems range in style and content from the fairy-tale elements of Class 1 (ages 6 to 7) to the legends and animal fables introduced in Class 2 (ages 7 to 8).

Rhythmical repetition of words, sounds, and phrases is used throughout the book but especially widely in the tales for younger children.

Includes: “The Prince Who Kept Pigs”; “The Tree of Three Cries”; “The Giant and the Child”; “The Fork Tail and the Rams”; and “The Monkey and the Pea.”

Isabel Wyatt (1901-1992) was born in England and spent many years teaching young children. Until her retirement in 1965, she was co-director of studies at Hawkwood College, Gloucestershire. She wrote numerous books for children.

Available from Steiner Books Floris Books, UK




Please past text to modal